Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

The Ultimate Cruisers' Planning Tool


You are here: Home / General / Cruising Information / The OCC Announces Award Recipients for 2015

The OCC Announces Award Recipients for 2015

By OCC — last modified Feb 11, 2016 11:43 AM
Each year, the Ocean Cruising Club (OCC) recognises the outstanding achievements of blue water sailors and brings those achievements to the attention of the sailing community at large.

Published: 2016-02-11 00:00:00
Topics: Cruising Information

The OCC Announces Award Recipients for 2015

Winner of the Barton Cup Michael Johnson

This year’s winners represent a diverse group of sailors scattered around the earth’s oceans. They were selected from a rich pool of candidates, indicating that many adventurous sailors continue to tackle new frontiers. Jenny Crickmore-Thompson, Chairman of the OCC Awards Sub-Committee which was composed of accomplished members representing multiple continents, made the announcement after ratification by the OCC Committee.

See the OCC Website for photos and details of all the winners.

Platinum Sponsors
Home Port for the Ocean Cruising Community
Bi-annual OCC Flying Fish Journal
Worldwide Port Officers

Over 200 boats and 1200 people take part in the ARC every year
2700 NM across the Atlantic from Gran Canaria to Saint Lucia
A rally for everyone; families, racers, couples, big boats and modest boats
Two weeks of pre-departure activities in Las Palmas
Welcomed in Saint Lucia with a rum punch and a chilled beer
Fantastic achievement - crossing an ocean on a small sailboat