Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
The global site for cruising sailors
Sections
You are here: Home / General / Communications / Eastern Caribbean and now the Pacific: The Coconut Telegraph SSB Net extends its reach

Eastern Caribbean and now the Pacific: The Coconut Telegraph SSB Net extends its reach

By Cruisers Network Online — last modified Feb 28, 2014 01:00 PM
The Coconut Telegraph, the premier SSB net for the eastern Caribbean has extended its reach to the Pacific Ocean.

Published: 2014-02-28 00:00:00
Topics: Communications
Countries: Colombia , Panama , USA , Venezuela

This posting from the Yahoo Group: Cruisers Network Online

Field Trip with Mark, Sarah and the kids aboard checked in this morning from Panama City, Panama.

Coconut Telegraph broadcasting on 8170 USB, using 8146 and 8164 as alternate frequencies is on at 08:00 AST (07:00 EST, 12:00 UTC).  Since changing to 8170 last fall it now covers the entire Caribbean reaching Florida, northern South America, several hundred miles east of the Windward Islands and now to the Pacific Ocean.

The Coconut Telegraph is the perfect partner to the Cruiseheimers Net on 8152 USB which covers the US east coast at 08:30 Eastern Time.  The two nets overlap from Florida to the northern Caribbean including the Bahamas.

Related content
Coconut Telegraph is Moving
Share |
General
Platinum Sponsors

Want a website or blog for your boat?
Boatblogs.com

Over 200 boats and 1200 people take part in the ARC every year
2700 NM across the Atlantic from Gran Canaria to Saint Lucia
A rally for everyone; families, racers, couples, big boats and modest boats
Two weeks of pre-departure activities in Las Palmas
Welcomed in Saint Lucia with a rum punch and a chilled beer
Fantastic achievement - crossing an ocean on a small sailboat